Sahitya Akademi Translation Prize 2023

The Executive Board of the Sahitya Akademi, chaired by President Sri Madhav Kaushik, convened at Rabindra Bhavan, New Delhi, and approved the selection of 24 books for the Sahitya Akademi Translation Prize 2023. The books were chosen based on recommendations made by three-member Selection Committees in each language, following the established rules and procedures. The prize recognizes translations first published between January 1, 2017, and December 31, 2021.

Selection Process and Prize Details

The Selection Committees made recommendations for the Translation Prizes in their respective languages. The prize, which includes a cash award of Rs. 50,000 and a copper plaque, will be presented to the translators of the selected books at a special function later this year.

Tamil Writer Kannaiyan Daksnamurthy Wins for Translating “The Black Hill”

Tamil writer Kannaiyan Daksnamurthy has been awarded the Sahitya Akademi Award for Translation for his Tamil translation of Mamang Dai’s novel “The Black Hill.” Originally published in English in 2014, the novel was translated into Tamil under the title “Karungunram” in 2016. “The Black Hill” had previously won the Sahitya Akademi Award in 2017, a year after its publication. Kannaiyan Daksnamurthy is a well-known translator, having translated works on various subjects, including the 1857 revolt, short stories from Sri Lanka, and biographies of notable figures such as Indira Gandhi and Vivekananda.

About “The Black Hill”

Set during the colonial era, Mamang Dai’s novel “The Black Hill” follows the life of a couple from rival tribes who elope to be together. The narrative is woven around a real-life incident involving the disappearance of a French Jesuit priest, Father Nicolas Krick, in the 1950s and the subsequent execution of someone in connection with the case.

Bangali Nanda Receives Kendra Sahitya Akademi Prize for Translation

Writer and former teacher Bangali Nanda from Rayagada district has been awarded the prestigious Kendra Sahitya Akademi Prize for translation for the year 2023. Nanda won the Odia language award for his translation of Nelluri Keshavaswamy’s Telugu short story collection “Nelluri Keshavaswamy Uthama Kathalu,” published by the National Book Trust (NBT) in 2019 under the title “Nelluri Keshavaswamyanka Shrestha Galpa.” The book was selected based on the recommendation of a three-member jury comprising Vaishnab Charan Samal, Bipin Bihari Mishra, and Prasanna Kumar Mohanty. Nanda is a prolific writer and translator, having written several books and translated over 14 works from various languages into Odia.

Nepali and Manipuri Authors Awarded for Translating Odia Works

Nepali author Jiwan Bantawa and Manipuri writer Nabakumar Nongmeikapam were recognized with the Akademi’s translation awards for their translations of Odia short story collections. Bantawa translated Sanjukta Mohanty’s “Itihasara Chinna Prusthae,” while Nongmeikapam translated Akhil Mohan Patnaik’s “O Andha Gali.” Additionally, Ramakant Ray’s Maithili translation of Gopinanth Mohanty’s Odia novel “Amrutara Santana” and the Hindi translation of Gourahari Das’ “Kanta O Anya Galpa” by the title “Kanta Tatha Anya Kahania” were also selected for the award.

Sahitya Akademi Awards: Recognizing Literary Excellence

The Sahitya Akademi Award, presented annually by the Union government since 1954, is considered one of the highest literary awards in India. The award recognizes outstanding works in 24 languages, including English, and is also presented for the best translated book in each of these languages. Winners receive a plaque and a cash prize of Rs. 1,00,000.

The Sahitya Akademi Translation Prize 2023 highlights the importance of literary translation in promoting cultural exchange and understanding across languages. As the Sahitya Akademi continues to celebrate literary excellence, it plays a crucial role in preserving and promoting India’s vibrant literary heritage.



Leave a Reply