Sahitya Akademi Awards 2023 Winners

The Sahitya Akademi Awards for the year 2023 have been announced, recognizing outstanding literary works in various Indian languages. Among the notable winners are Tamil author Rajasekaran (Devibharathi) for his novel “Neervazhi Padooum,” Telugu writer T. Patanjali Sastry for the short story collection “Rameshwaram Kaakulu Marikonni Kathalu,” and Malayalam litterateur E.V. Ramakrishnan for his literary study “Malayala Novelinte Deshakalangal.”

Key Points

  1. Award Categories: The Sahitya Akademi Awards cover nine books of poetry, six novels, five short story collections, three essays, and one literary study.
  2. Approval: The awards were recommended by distinguished jury members in 24 languages and approved by the Executive Board of the Sahitya Akademi.
  3. Eligibility Period: The awards relate to books first published between January 2017 and December 31, 2021.
  4. Other Winners: Notable winners in different languages include Neelum Saran Gour (English – novel), Sanjeev (Hindi – novel), Lakshmisha Tolpadi (Kannada – essays), Swapnamay Chakrabarti (Bengali – novel), and others.
  5. Presentation Ceremony: The awards, presented in the form of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque, a shawl, and ₹1,00,000, will be conferred at the award presentation function on March 12, 2024.
  6. Sahitya Akademi: Established on March 12, 1954, the Sahitya Akademi is an autonomous body under the Union Culture Ministry, dedicated to the promotion of literature in Indian languages.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *