Modern Indian History & Freedom Struggle MCQs


The resolutions on Fundamental Rights and National Economic Policy were passed in which of the following sessions of the Indian National Congress?

[A] Belgaum,1934
[B] Lahore,1929
[C] Karachi,1931
[D] Faizpur,1936

Show Answer


Arrange the following events in the order of their chronology:

1.August Offer
2.Poona Pact
3.Third Round Table Conference

Choose the correct option:

[A] 1-2-3
[B] 2-3-1
[C] 2-1-3
[D] 2-1-3

Show Answer


Who founded the Ramakrishna Mission in 1896 to carry on humanitarian relief and social work?

[A] Ramakrishna Paramahansa
[B] Swami Dayananda Saraswati
[C] Swami Vivekananda
[D] Blavatsky and Olcott

Show Answer


Which among the following Viceroys was associated with the ‘Ilbert Bill Controversy’?

[A] Lord Curzon
[B] Lord Lytton
[C] Lord Ripon
[D] Lord Hardinge

Show Answer


Subhash Chandra Bose was re-elected the President of INC at the Tripuri Session in 1939 by defeating Gandhiji’s candidate :

[A] Dr. Rajendra Prasad
[B] J.B.Kriplani
[C] Pattabhi Sitaramaiyya
[D] Nellie Sengupta

Show Answer


The pioneer of Communism in India was:

[A] S.A.Dange
[B] M.R.Jayakar
[C] M.N.Roy
[D] Nalin Gupta

Show Answer


Which of the following was the most controversial measure of Lord Mountbatten?

[A] Partitioning of Punjab and Bengal
[B] Holding of a referendum in the North West Frontier Province (NWFP)
[C] Setting up of an Executive Council comprising of Indians alone
[D] Advancing the date of transfer of power from June 1948 to August 15,1947

Show Answer


Both the processes of transfer of power and the partition of India were hurried through in ____ days.

[A] 68
[B] 70
[C] 72
[D] 85

Show Answer


The Swaraj Party was divided into factions after the death of C.R.Das and its ‘Responsivists’ faction worked for/by:

[A] Safeguarding the hindu interests by cooperating with the British Government.
[B] Creating obstacles in legislative process by acting as dissenters.
[C] Cooperating with the No-Changers of the Congress in the favour of constructive programme of Gandhi.
[D] Maintaining a separate identity of the Party within the Congress.

Show Answer


 Which among the following great revolutionaries was the brain behind the ‘Chittagong Armoury Raid’?

[A] Ganesh Ghosh
[B] Chandrashekhar Azad
[C] Surya Sen
[D] Lala Hardayal

Show Answer

Looking for more difficult and analytical questions for UPSC? Check our Prelims Material & Mock Tests Section at IASPOINT Here

Report Error

Use this form to report error in questions. We shall rectify asap...