National Wildlife Week, 2020

Every year National Wildlife Week is celebrated in India between October 2nd and October 8th. It is being celebrated since 1954. The main objective of celebrating the day is to save the lives of Indian animals by taking critical steps. The week is celebrated under the following theme
Theme: RoaR (Roar and Revive) – Exploring Human-Animal Relationships

Key Highlights

Though the day is celebrated by several organizations all over India, the celebrations are mainly organized by National Board of Wildlife.

The forest departments organize bird watching in wetlands. Conferences, Workshops, symposiums, education trainings and lectures are organised.

What are the objectives?

The National Wildlife Week is celebrated in the country under the following objectives

  • To make people aware of the protection and conservation of wildlife
  • To implement services that preserve wildlife
  • The discuss and identify issues related to wildlife preservation.

Wild Life conservation in India

India is one of the 17 mega diversities of the world. Therefore, it is important for India to conserve and protect its biodiversity. The GoI has launched several programmes to conserve its wildlife. Some of the key programmes are as follows

  • Project Tiger: Launched in 1972 and is the most successful wildlife programme of the Indian Government
  • Project Elephant
  • Crocodile Conservation Project
  • United Nations Development Programme Sea Turtle Project
  • Protected Areas were created by Wildlife Protection Act, 1972
  • Wetland (conservation and management) rules, 2010 were drafted


The acts that conserve biodiversity of India are as follows

  • Indian Forests Act, 1972
  • Fisheries Act, 1897
  • Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960
  • Environment Protection Act
  • Biological Diversity Act
  • Forest Conservation Act

Mega Diverse Countries

The United Nations Environment Programme has identified 17 mega-diverse countries in the world. They are Australia, China, Brazil, Colombia, US, Ecuador, India, Philippines, Indonesia, Malaysia, Madagascar, Papua New Guinea. Mexico. Peru, South Africa, Democratic Republic of Congo and Venezuela.

Out of these, 12 met in 2002 and adopted Cancun Declaration. India is one amongst them to sign the declaration. Later, three more joined.

These 17 countries contribute to 70% of terrestrial biological diversity of the mother earth occupying just 10% of her surface.

Criteria for a mega-diverse country

A Country is called a mega-diverse country under following conditions

  • The country should have at least 5,000 endemic plants
  • It should have marine ecosystems within its borders


Leave a Reply