Arjuna Award: GK, General Studies and Current Affairs

The 2017 National Sports Day (NSD) celebrated on 29 August

The National Sports Day (NSD) is celebrated every year on 29th August to mark the birthday of legendary hockey player Dhyan Chand. On this occasion, in 2017, President Ram Nath Kovind has confered Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, Arjuna Award and Dronacharya Award at Rashtrapati Bhawan in New Delhi. The Khel Ratna Award is honoured ..

Devendra Jhajharia and Sardar Singh have been selected for 2017 Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

Para Athlete Devendra Jhajharia and Hockey player Sardar Singh have been selected for the 2017 Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. Cricketer Cheteshwar Pujara, Women Cricketer Harmanpreet Kaur and shooter P. N. Prakash are among the 17 sportsmen who will be given Arjuna Awards for their outstanding performance. Seven persons have been chosen for Dronacharya Awards ..

Pankaj Advani wins World Billiards Championships title

Indian ace cueist Pankaj Advani has won his 11th World Billiards (150-Up format) Championships title by defeating Peter Gilchrist of Singapore in the summit clash held in Bengaluru. With this win, he has wrapped up his 16th world title overall. Advani is also first Indian world champion in 6-red snooker. He is the only Indian to win ..

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards 2012

Vijay Kumar who won silver medal in shooting event and Yogeshwar Dutt who clinched Bronze in wrestling at London Olympics will be conferred with country’s highest sporting honour Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award for the year 2012. Can Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award be conferred on more than one person in a year ? Usually the ..

Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore named as the head of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards Committee

The silver medal winner of Athens Olympics 2004, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, has been appointed as head of the 15-member committee that will select the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee and Arjun Award winners. Former Captain of Indian Hockey Team, Aslam Sher Khan, will be the head of the 15-member committee that will select the Dronacharya ..