Kempegowda International Award

Former chief minister of Karnataka S M Krishna, founder of Infosys & IT industry veteran N R Narayana Murthy, as well as former badminton player Prakash Padukone, were selected for Kempegowda International Award 2022”.

Key Facts

  • This announcement was made by Higher Education Minister of Karnataka, C N Ashwath Narayan. He is the Vice-President of Nadaprabhu Kempegowda Heritage Area Development Authority.
  • Chief Minister Basavaraja Bommai will give the awards to recipients during grand celebration on the occasion of 513th birth anniversary of Kempegowda.
  • Award will be presented on June 27, 2022 at Vidhana Saudha.
  • Kempe gowda was the architect of Bengaluru city.
  • All the three achievers have contributed in their unique way to develop Bengaluru and fame it has garnered.

About Kempegowda International Award

Kempegowda Award, also known as Nadaprabhu Kempegowda Award, is a civilian award which is presented by Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP), annually. Nomination for the award is done on the basis of notable contributions of civilians, in education, medicine, sports, media, journalism, theatre, film, music, dance, environment, folklore, yogasana, judiciary, photography, culture, painting, social service, and astrology. This award carries a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh and a plaque.

History of the award

The award has been named after ruler of Vijayanagara Empire, Nadaprabhu Hiriya Kempe Gowda. He built the Bengaluru city in 1537. The award ceremony is organised annually. on the eve of birthday of Kempegowda, which is marked as Kempegowda day or ′Kempegowda Jayanthi′ on June 27. Presentation of award was temporarily stopped in 2007 and again resumed in 2011, after four years.

Nadaprabhu Hiriya Kempe Gowda

Kempe Gowda was a chieftain under Vijayanagara Empire. He fortified the Bengaluru city in 1537. He erected several Kannada inscriptions in the region.

The Vijayanagara Empire

This Empire was based in Deccan Plateau region of South India. The empire was set up in 1336 by Harihara I and Bukka Raya I of Sangama dynasty.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *