New CEO of NITI Aayog

On June 24, 2022, retired IAS officer Parameswaran Iyer was appointed as the new CEO of NITI Aayog, by Union Government.

Key Points

  • Parameshwaran Iyer is a 1981-batch IAS officer from UP cadre.
  • He will replace Amitabh Kant and become the third chief executive officer of the public policy think tank of the government.
  • His term will start after the completion of tenure of current CEO Amitabh Kant. His tenure is scheduled to end on June 30, 2022.

Who approved the appointment?

The appointment of Parameshwaran Iyer was approved by “Appointments Committee of the Cabinet”.  He has been appointed for a period of two years or until further orders. He has been appointed on same terms and conditions as were there for Amitabh Kant.

When was Amitabh Kant appointed?

Amitabh Kant was appointed as the CEO of Niti Aayog on February 17, 2016, for a fixed term of two-year. Later, he was given an extension till June 2019. In 2019, his term was further extended for two years. Finally in 2021, his term was extended by one-year.

Who is Parameshwaran Iyer?

Parameshwaran Iyer was born in Srinagar. He went to Doon School in Dehradun. Later, went to St. Stephen’s College in Delhi. He received exchange scholarship for one-year at Davidson College in North Carolina of USA. In 1981, he joined civil services. In 2009, he took a voluntary retirement and joined water and sanitation initiatives at the World Bank. Government of India appointed him in 2016, to implement Swachh Bharat Mission. In 2020, he resigned and returned to the United States again to join World Bank.

The NITI Aayog

It is the apex public policy think tank of Government of India. It is the nodal agency that catalyses economic development, and foster cooperative federalism by involving State Governments in economic policy-making process. It uses bottom-up approach. Some of the initiatives by NITI Aayog include-15-year road map, AMRUT, Atal Innovation Mission, Digital India, Indices Measuring Performance of States in Health, Education and Water Management, etc. It was established in 2015, after replacing Planning Commission. The planning commission used a top-down model.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *