Agro – Climatic Zones of India

Agro – Climatic Zone is a land that is suitable for growing particular type of crop. It is essential to delineate the land in the country into agro – climatic zones for sustainable agricultural production.

What are the agro – climatic zones of India?

There are 15 agro – climatic zones in India. They are western Himalayas, eastern Himalayas, lower gangetic plains, middle gangetic plains, upper gangetic plains, trans gangetic plains, eastern plateau and hills, central plateau and hills, western plateau and hills, southern plateau and hills, east coast plains and hills, west coast plains and hills, Gujarat Plains and Hills, western dry region and islands.

What is the difference between agro – climatic zone and agro – ecological zone?

  • An Agro – Ecological Zone is carved out from the Agro – Climatic Zone. It is the land unit that acts as a modifier to climate and length of growing period. There are 20 agro – ecological zones in India.
  • The Agro – Climatic Zone has two major variants. They are climate and growing period. The Agro – Ecological Zone has four major variables. They are climate, soil types, landforms and length of growing period.

NARP for Agro – Climatic Zones

The Indian Council of Agricultural Research launched National Agricultural Research Project to set up zonal research centres in each agro – climatic zone. These centres will analyse agro – ecological conditions and cropping patterns in the regions.

Agro Climatic Zones in Punjab

There are six agro – climatic zones in Punjab. They are Flood Plain Region (FPR), Western Region (WR), Western Plain Region (WPR), Central Plain Region (CPR), Undulating Plain Region (UPR) and Sub – Mountain Undulating Region. In these zones, the rainfall pattern, soil texture, climatic conditions, humidity conditions and temperature are different from each other.




Latest E-Books