22nd Summit of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation

The 22nd Summit of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) is set to take place on 4th July. However, due to unforeseen circumstances, the summit will be conducted in a virtual mode. The Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) recently announced this decision.

Virtual Mode Amidst Global Uncertainty

Originally, India was expected to host the physical meeting of the SCO Summit. However, the ongoing global situation has prompted the shift to a virtual mode. This move ensures the safety and well-being of all participants, given the prevailing circumstances.

SCO Member Countries and Observer States

The SCO consists of seven member countries, namely China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. Additionally, three observer states have been invited to the summit: Iran, Belarus, and Mongolia. The inclusion of observer states provides a broader perspective and fosters cooperation among nations.

Diplomatic Interactions and Recent Meetings

The recent visit of Pakistan’s foreign minister to Goa for the SCO Foreign Ministers Council meeting showcased the importance of regional cooperation. This meeting marked the first official visit by a Pakistani foreign minister since 2011, emphasizing the significance of the SCO platform.

Furthermore, amidst the border standoff along the Line of Actual Control (LAC), the foreign ministers of India and China, S. Jaishankar and Qin Gang respectively, have met twice recently. The G20 Foreign Ministers Meeting in New Delhi and the SCO Foreign Ministers Council meeting in Goa facilitated discussions despite the ongoing tensions.

Inclusive Participation: International and Regional Organizations

Apart from the heads of state from the member countries, the SCO Summit has extended invitations to several international and regional organizations. These include the United Nations (UN), Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS), Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO), Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), and Conference on Interaction and Confidence-Building Measures in Asia (CICA). This diverse representation enriches the discussions and enhances cooperative efforts.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *