Vidarbha claim 2nd successive Ranji Trophy

The defending champions Vidarbha won the 85th Ranji Trophy title. The defending champions defeated Saurashtra by 78 runs in the final.

Score Card of the Ranji Final Clash

Vidarbha: 312 and 200
Saurashtra: 307 and 127
Aditya Sarwate of was Vidarbha was declared man of the match for his 11 wickets in the match and 49 runs in Vidarbha’s second innings which helped Vidarbha clinching the title for the second time.

Ranji Trophy

Ranji Trophy is the Indian domestic first-class cricket championship between teams representing regional and state cricket associations. The championship is named after Ranjitsinhji Vibhaji Jadeja, who was famously referred to as ‘Ranji’.
The cricket championship was conceived in July 1934 and the first fixture was held between Madras and Mysore at the Chepauk ground in Madras. The Ranji Trophy was also donated by Ranjitsinhji Vibhaji Jadeja.
Mumbai(Bombay) have won the tournament the most number of times with 41 wins. Vidarbha became the sixth team to successfully defend their title. The other sides to win the consecutive titles are Bombay/Mumbai, Maharashtra, Delhi, Rajasthan and Karnataka.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *