Ranji Trophy: GK, Current Affairs, Questions, Trivia and News

Saurashtra cricket team wins maiden Ranji trophy

The Saurashtra cricket team led by an inspiring skipper Jaydev Unadkat recently won the maiden Ranji trophy of the team. At the final clash on the fifth and final day at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot, the team stopped Bengal cricket team from clinching the trophy. There were several outstanding performers in the tournament ..

Wasim Jaffer announces retirement

Wasim Jaffer, former India Opener is the first Indian cricketer to play in 150 Ranji Trophy matches. He is also the highest run-scorer in the history of Ranji Trophy. Jaffer was in news recently, as he has announced his retirement from all forms of the game. He has totally scored 19,410 runs with an average ..

Man Mohan Sood passes away at 80

The 80-year-old former batsman of the Indian cricket team and National Selector, Man Mohan Sood passed away on the early hour of Sunday, 19th January 2020. Man Mohan Sood was born on 06-07-1939 in Lahore, Punjab (now in Pakistan), India.  He made his first-class debut against Services in 1957 at the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium ..

Arun Lal conferred with Karthik Bose Lifetime Achievement award

Former Indian opener and Bengal captain, Arun Lal has been conferred with Karthik Bose Lifetime Achievement award of the Cricket Association of Bengal’s (CAB’s) in Kolkata. He played 16 Test matches and 13 One-Day Internationals (ODIs) for India between 1982 and 1989. He played six seasons for Delhi before becoming a regular feature for Bengal ..

Cricket commentator Anant Setalvad passes away

Anant Setalvad (84), yesteryear cricket commentator, has passed away in Mumbai on August 4, 2019. His pleasant baritone voice distinguished him from other cricket commentators from the mid 1960s through to the 1980s. Regarded as a giant in cricket commentary on All India Radio (AIR), Anant shared the microphone with Vijay Merchant, Pearson Surita, Raju ..

Chandigarh gets BCCI affiliation

After nearly four decades, Chandigarh has finally received affiliation from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Now, the city can also have its own team in the Ranji Trophy and other domestic tournaments organised by the BCCI. This was stated by Union Territory Cricket Association (UTCA) President Sanjay Tandon. Following the development, ..

Vidharbha clinchs 2019 Ranji Trophy

On 7th February, Vidharbha lifted the Ranji Trophy for the second time in a row, after defeating Saurashtra by 78 runs in the final match of the 2018–19 season held at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur. With this, Vidarbha has become only the 6th team in the tournament’s long history to have defended the title.

Bihar left-arm spinner Ashutosh Aman makes record by in Ranji

Bihar left-arm spinner Ashutosh Aman broke the 44-year old record of most wickets in a single Ranji Trophy season by finishing the 2018-19 tournament with 68 wickets. He break the previous record of 64 dismissals set by former India captain Bishan Singh Bedi in the 1974–75 tournament. Aman now holds the record for most wickets ..