India invites leaders of BIMSTEC Member States for swearing-in ceremony of PM Modi

India has invited the leaders of the BIMSTEC Member States for the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi on May 30, 2019. Beside this, the invitations have also been sent to the President of Kyrgyzstan Sooronbay Jeenbekov who is the current Chair of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) and Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Jugnauth, the Chief Guest at this 2019 Pravasi Bhartiya Divas (PBD). The invitations are in line with the Government’s focus on its ‘Neighbourhood First’ policy. The BIMSTEC (Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation) member states are: Bangladesh, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Nepal and Bhutan including India. President Ram Nath Kovind will administer the Oath of Office and Secrecy to Mr Modi for the second term and other members of Union Council of Ministers at a function in Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Leave a Reply