Ram Nath Kovind: GK, General Studies and Current Affairs

President accepts Union Minister Harsimrat Kaur Badal’s resignation

On September 17, 2020, the Union Food Processing Industries Minister Shrimati Harsimrat Kaur Badal resigned over the protest against the three farm sector bills.  The President of India Ramnath Govind accepted the resignation under the advice of the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi. Highlights Further, under the advice of the Prime Minister, the President has directed ..

National Mission for Manuscripts: 108 volumes of Mongolian Kanjur to be reprinted

On July 10, 2020, the Ministry of culture launched a project to reprint 108 volumes of Mongolian Kanjur under the National Mission for Manuscripts. Highlights On the occasion of Dharma Chakra Day, five sets of Mongolian Kanjur was presented to President Ram Nath Kovind. The plan is to publish all the 108 volumes by March ..

Former CJI Ranjan Gogoi nominated to Rajya Sabha

The former Chief Justice of India, Ranjan Gogoi has been nominated to Rajya Sabha by the President Ram Nath Kovind, as per the notification of the Union Home Ministry The nomination is done to fill the vacancy arising due to retirement of one of the members. The maximum strength of Rajya Sabha is 250 members ..

President Ram Nath Kovind presents ‘Nari Shakti Puraskar’

On the occasion of International Women’s day, President Ram Nath Kovind recently presented the ‘Nari Shakti Puraskar’ to IAF’s first women fighter pilots, Mohana Jitarwal, Avani Chaturvedi and Bhawana Kanth, among the 15 total wardees. After the Government of India decided to open fighter stream in the Air force for women on an experimental basis, ..

Bimal Julka appointed as CIC of India

Information Commissioner Bimal Julka has been recently appointed as the Chief Information Commissioner (CIC) of India. President Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath of office to Bimal Julka as the CIC at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. The previous Chief Sudhir Bhargava retired on January 11 and since then the Chief Information Commission was functioning without head. ..