General Compendium-5

The Bretton Woods
Economies of Scale
Blood Groups

The Bretton Woods
The Bretton Woods system is commonly refers to the international monetary regime that prevailed from the end of World War II until the early 1970s. Taking its name from the site of the 1944 conference that created the *International Monetary Fund (IMF) and *World Bank, the Bretton Woods system was history’s first example of a fully negotiated monetary order intended to govern currency relations among sovereign states. In principle, the regime was designed to combine binding legal obligations with multilateral decision-making conducted through an international organization, the IMF, endowed with limited supranational authority. In practice the initial scheme, as well as its subsequent development and ultimate demise, were directly dependent on the preferences and policies of its most powerful member, the United States.

Economies of Scale
Economies of scale are the cost advantages that a business obtains due to expansion. They are factors that cause a producer’s average cost per unit to fall as scale is increased. Economies of scale is a long run concept and refers to reductions in unit cost as the size of a facility, or scale, increases.Diseconomies of scale are the opposite. Economies of scale may be utilized by any size firm expanding its scale of operation.

The Group of 77 at the United Nations is a loose coalition of developing nations, designed to promote its members’ collective economic interests and create an enhanced joint negotiating capacity in the United Nations. There were 77 founding members of the organization, but the organization has since expanded to 130 member countries. The group is chaired and directed in 2009 by the government of Sudan.

The term chaitya-griha is often used to denote assembly or prayer hall that houses a stupa. Architecturally they show similarities to Roman design concepts of column and arch. Used in Both Jainism & Buddhism.

The dance of Shiva in Tillai, the traditional name for Chidambaram, forms the motif for all the depictions of Shiva as Nataraja. He is also known as “Sabesan” which splits as “Sabayil aadum eesan” in Tamil which means “The Lord who dances on the dias”.The form is present in most Shiva temples in South India, and is the main deity in the famous temple at Chidambaram. The dance performed by Natraja is called Tandav Nritya?

Blood Groups :
Red Blood Cells have a protein coat (Antigens) on their surface which distinguishes them. According to this blood is divided into four groups:
A (A oligosaccharide is present)
B (B oligosaccharide is present)
AB (A and B oligosaccharides are present)
O (neither A nor B, only their precursor H oligisaccharide present)


  1. Chirag Shrivastava

    May 19, 2009 at 12:02 am

    it's very good information, thank you sir. Keep it up sir

  2. Anonymous

    June 23, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    With reference to your information regarding blood groups, how does our blood group gets classified as +ve or -ve (o+ or o-)?

  3. Rajeev

    July 19, 2009 at 10:18 am

    hi presence of is indicated by a +ve sign & absence of that saccaride is indicated by -ve sign

  4. Anonymous

    December 17, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    most wonderful website i have ever seen in my life.

Leave a Reply