Conferment of 106 Padma Awards

Padma Awards is a presented to honor people from different fields such as social work, education, literature, public affairs, education, etc. It is one of the highest civilian awards presented in the country. The award is presented in three categories namely Padma Bhushan, Padma Vibhushan, and Padma Shri. Padma Awards are presented by the President of India.

The following will be honored with the awards

Padma Vibhushan:

  • Mulayam Singh Yadav (Posthumous): Former Defence Minister of India; her served as the CM of UP for three years, founder of the Samajwadi Party
  • SM Krishna (Posthumous): Served as the External Affairs Minister of India between 2009 and 2012; was part of BJP, from Karnataka
  • Zakir Hussain: Musician, table player
  • Balkrishna Doshi (Posthumous): An Architect. Played huge roles in the evolution of architectural discourse in India
  • Dillip Mahalanabis (posthumous): Indian pediatrician, known for effective use of Oral Rehydration Therapy in treating Diarrhoea
  • Srinivas Vardhan: From USA in the field of Science and Engineering. He is a mathematician

Padma Bhushan:

  • Bhyrappa: Novelist
  • Kumar Mangalam Birla: Businessman
  • Deepak Dhar: Physicist
  • Vani Jayaram: Singer
  • Chinna Jeeyar: Religious Guru and ascetic
  • Suman Kalyanpur: Playback Singer
  • Kapil Kapoor: Former VC of JNU
  • Sudha Murthy: Wife of Infosys CEO Narayana Murthy for Social Works
  • Kamlesh D Patel: In the field of Spiritualism; written several books on yoga
  • Ghazal Singers of Rajasthan: Mohammad Hussain and Ahmed Hussain

In all, the GoI is to present 106 Padma Awards. Raveena Tandon, the Bollywood actress will be conferred with Padma Shri. Posthumous means the awardees are no more



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *