Air Force AFCAT Examination

The Air Force Common Admission Test (AFCAT) is an entrance exam conducted by the Indian Air Force (IAF) for the recruitment of officers in various branches of the IAF. AFCAT is conducted twice a year, in February and August, and is open to both men and women who meet the eligibility criteria.

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for AFCAT, candidates must be Indian citizens and meet the following criteria:

  • Age: The age of the candidate should be between 20 to 24 years for the flying branch and 20 to 26 years for the ground duty branches as on the date of commencement of course.
  • Educational Qualification: The candidate should have a minimum of 60% marks in graduation or equivalent and must have studied Physics and Mathematics at 10+2 level.

Exam Pattern AFCAT is a computer-based test consisting of objective-type questions. The exam is conducted for a duration of two hours and consists of four sections:

  • General Awareness
  • Verbal Ability in English
  • Numerical Ability
  • Reasoning and Military Aptitude

Each section carries equal weightage, and there is a negative marking of one-third of the marks assigned to a question for each wrong answer.

Selection Procedure

The selection process for AFCAT consists of the following stages:

  • Written Examination: Candidates who clear the written examination are called for the next stage of the selection process.
  • Air Force Selection Board (AFSB) Interview: Candidates who clear the written examination are called for the AFSB interview, which consists of various tests, including psychological tests, group discussions, and personal interviews.
  • Medical Examination: Candidates who clear the AFSB interview are called for the medical examination, which is conducted to ensure that the candidate is medically fit to join the IAF.
  • Final Merit List: The final merit list is prepared based on the candidate’s performance in the written examination, AFSB interview, and medical examination.

Career Opportunities

AFCAT offers candidates the opportunity to join the IAF as officers in various branches, including the flying branch, technical branch, and ground duty branch. Officers in the flying branch fly various aircraft, including fighter jets, transport aircraft, and helicopters. Officers in the technical branch are responsible for maintaining the IAF’s aircraft and equipment, while officers in the ground duty branch handle various administrative and logistical tasks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *