Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award 2018

President Ram Nath Kovind on the occasion of National Sports day (on August 29) ceremony presented Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards 2018 to winners at Rashtrapati Bhavan. It is highest national award for adventure sports in India, at par with the Arjuna award.

Winners are:

  • Land Adventure category: Aparna Kumar, Late Dipankar Ghosh and Manikandan K.
  • Water Adventure category: Prabhat Raju Koli
  • Air Adventure: Rameshwer Jangra
  • Life Time Achievement: Wangchuk Sherpa

Aparna Kumar: She is 2002 batch IPS officer of Uttar Pradesh Cadre. She is currently posted as DIG in Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBF) at Dehradun. She is first IPS officer to be honoured with Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award.

About Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award

It is highest national awards for adventure sports in India. It is conferred annually to recognize achievements of people in the field of adventure on land, sea and air. It aims to provide incentive to the young people for getting exposed to the adventure activities. It is conferred in four categories – Land Adventure, Air Adventure, Water Adventure, and Life Time Achievement.

Winners are selected based on the recommendations of the National Selection Committee chaired by Secretary (Youth Affairs) and has experts from the field of adventure as members. The awardees are presented with statuettes, certificates and cash prize worth Rs. 5 lakh each. It is named after Nepali-Indian Sherpa mountaineer Tenzing Norgay.  He was one of the first two individuals known to reach summit of Mount Everest, which he accomplished with Edmund Hillary on 29 May 1953.

Leave a Reply