Telangana government sets up State Public Service Commission

Telangana government has given nod to set up Telangana State Public Service Commission (TPSC) under the chairmanship of G Chakrapani. In this regard , approval was given by Chief Minister K Chandrasekhara Rao.
Currently, G Chakrapani is a professor at B R Ambedkar Open University.
Thus, formation of TPSC will pave the way for filling up approximately 1.22 lakh vacant posts in 33 state departments.
On 2nd June 2014, Telangana was granted status of statehood after bifurcating from then Andhra Pradesh as per provisions set in Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014.
After its formation, ruling TRS government under Chief Minister K Chandrasekhara Rao initially had identified 1.07 lakh vacant posts in 31 departments.
But later it was revised to 1.22 lakh vacant posts in 33 departments and the upper age limit was also increased by five years for certain posts.
Constitutional Provision for State Public Service Commission (SPSC)
The provisions of SPSC are mentioned in Article 315 of Constitution. It is a multi-member body consisting of Chairman and members appointed by Governor of the state.
It should be noted that, Chairman and members are removed only by President (and not by the Governor), although they are appointed by Governor.


Leave a Reply