Ratle Hydropower Project

The Union Cabinet recently approved the Ratle Hydropower Project of 850 MW. The cabinet has nodded to an investment of Rs 5,281.94 crores in the project. The project is located in River Chenab.

About the Ratle Hydropower Project

  • It is a joint venture of Jammu and Kashmir State Power Development Corporation and National Hydroelectric power corporation. The share of NHPC in the project is 49% and that of Jammu and Kashmir State Power Development Corporation is 51% respectively.
  • The project is to be commissioned within sixty months.
  • The project is expected to provide direct and indirect employment to more than four thousand individuals.
  • The project includes 133 metres tall gravity dam and two power stations.
  • The main power station of the project will contain four 205 MW Francis Turbines.
  • The auxiliary power station of the project will contain 30 MW of Francis Turbine.
  • The foundation stone to construct the dam was laid by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh in 2013.

Status of the Project

  • The project did not start till 2015.
  • In 2017, the World Bank allowed India to construct the dam. The Indus Water Treaty was signed after nine years of negotiations between India and Pakistan with the help of World Bank.
  • The project received severe objections from Pakistan.

Pakistan’s Stand on the Ratle Hydropower Project

According to Pakistan, the Ratle Hydropower Project violates Indus Water Treaty. According to Indus Water Treaty, the western rivers such as Indus, Chenab and Jhelum were allocated to Chenab. According to Pakistan, as the project is built across Chenab, it violates the treaty. However, the treaty also says that the waters can be used by India for specified domestic and agricultural use as provided by the treaty. The eastern rivers such as Beas, Ravi and Sutlej are to be used by India. Accordingly, India has constructed Bhakra Dam on Sutlej, Thein on Ravi and Pandoh and Pong dam on Beas.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *