Pradeep Kumar Joshi is the new Chairman of UPSC

Professor Pradeep Kumar Joshi has been appointed as the new Chairman of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). UPSC is tasked with conducting examinations and recommending candidates for the Group ‘A’ services in the central government. Mr Joshi is a member of the commission at present.

Who is Pradeep Kr Joshi?

Pradeep Kumar Joshi has been the Chairman of both Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh Public Service Commission and has joined the UPSC as a member in 2015. He will succeed Arvind Saxena who is going to complete his term as the chairman of the commission on August 7. Pradeep Kr Joshi will be at the helm of affairs at UPSC till May 12, 2021.

Composition of UPSC

Union Public Services Commission has one chairperson and around 10 members to manage the affairs. They are appointed by the President of India and also all of them can submit their resignation any time before the completion of their term to the President. The members and the chairman can be removed from the post due to Misbehaviour. It is a constitutional body.

Present Members of UPSC

At present, BS Bassi, Air Marshal AS Bhonsale, Sujata Mehta, Manoj Soni, Smita Nagaraj, M Sathiavathy, Bharat Bhushan Vyas, TCA Anant and RN Choubey are the members of the UPSC apart from the chairman.


Leave a Reply