Names of 141 Padma Awardees for 2020 announced

Sixteen eminent personalities were announced as the recipient of the third-highest civilian award of India ‘Padma Bhushan’ award this year, for their distinguished service of a high order. Out of the 141 total Padma awardees selected this year, there were seven Padma Vibhushan, 16 Padma Bhushan and 118 Padma Shri Awardees.

Famous personalities who were selected for the ‘Padma Bhushan’ award include top-rated Badminton Player-Rio Olympics Silver Medalist, P.V. Sindhu, Former Chief Minister of Goa- Manohar Parrikar (posthumous), father of modern legal education in India, N R Madhava Menon and businessmen Anand Mahindra and Venu Srinivasan. Among foreign citizens: Syed Muazzem Ali from Bangladesh in the field of Public Affairs and United States citizen Professor Jagdish Sheth in the field of Literature and Education was awarded Padma Bhushan this year. In the social work category, the Padma Bhushan was awarded to Anil Prakash Joshi and Krishnammal Jagannathan. Every year the awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day while are conferred at a ceremonial event by the President of India later in the month of either March or April.


Leave a Reply