India to host 2022 FIFA under-17 Women’s World Cup

India is all set to host “2022 FIFA under-17 Women’s World Cup” from October 11 to 30, 2022. It will be the second FIFA tournament to be hosted by India.


Earlier, India had to organise 2021 Under-17 Women’s World Cup but it was cancelled due to Covid-19 pandemic. India had also hosted FIFA under-17 World Cup in 2017. The 2017 event has set a record for being most attended youth World Cup in the history.

FIFA Women’s World Cup- Background

FIFA Women’s World Cup is a soccer competition which is contested Internationally by senior women’s national teams of members of  International Federation of Association Football (FIFA).  The competition was started in 1991 and it is held every four years since then. The 1991 tournament was held in China.

How teams are selected?

As per the current format of the tournament, national teams contest for 23 slots for three-year qualification phase while the team of host nation is automatically entered as 24th slot. The tournament proper is contested at venues in about one month.

Champion Countries

Till date, eight FIFA Women’s World Cup tournaments have been organised and four national teams have won it. United States have won the tournament four times. France is the current champions after winning in 2019

Host Countries

Women’s World Cup has been hosted by six countries. China and United States have hosted twice. On the other hand, Canada, France, Germany, and Sweden have hosted it once.

About FIFA

It is a non-profit organization and a highest international governing body of association football, futsal and beach soccer. It was founded in 1904 to organise and look after the international competition among national associations of Belgium, France, Denmark, Germany, Netherlands, Sweden, Spain and Switzerland. It is Headquartered in Zurich, Switzerland and currently, 211 national associations are its member.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *