FM radio stations in Nepal starts Weather Bulletins of Indian Territories

The House of Representatives in Nepal on 18th June 2020 had made a constitutional amendment under which the map of Nepal was revised. The revised map surprisingly included three Indian territories as part of Nepal. The 3 areas are- Kalapani, Lipulekh, and Limpiyadhura.

On 21st June 2020, it was reported from Pithoragarh district of Uttarakhand that some Nepalese FM radio stations located in Nepal’s bordering district with India- Darchula, have started broadcasting weather report of Lipulekh, Kalapani, and Limpiyadhura.

The local authorities however are yet to confirm any such developments from the Nepalese FM site yet. The information was provided by the residents of Pithoragarh.

Treaty of Sugauli signed in December 1815 and was ratified in the month of March 1816 establishes and serves as the borderline between India and Nepal.


Earlier on 8th May 2020, Rajnath Singh (Defence Minister of India) had inaugurated a much-awaited road route for pilgrims to reach Kailash Mansarovar. The 80 Km long new road was built between Ghatibagarh and Lipulekh by Border Roads Organisation (BRO). There was no new construction of a road on the Lipulekh Pass, the road which already existed through Lipulekh Pass was upgraded by BRO.

The Southern side of the Lipulekh Pass is the Kalapani territory, which is a disputed territory that has been controlled by India. Since the up-gradation of the road at Lipulekh pass, the Nepalese Government has started its objection and went on to declare 3 Indian territories as its own under its new revised map.


Leave a Reply