Asia Cup Hockey Tournament: India Wins Bronze

In the eight-team Asia Cup hockey tournament, India beat Japan for the second time to win the bronze medal. This match was held at the GBK Sports Complex in Jakarta. Raj Kumar Pal scored in the seventh minute which saw India clinch the medal with a 1-0 score.

Which team won this tournament?

In the final of the tournament, South Korea beat Malaysia 2-1 to win the gold medal. South Korea has won this tournament for the fifth time, the most successful team on the list. India and Pakistan have won this tournament thrice.

In which years did India win this tournament?

India won this tournament in the years 2003, 2007, and 2017.

What is the Asia Cup Hockey Tournament?

The Men’s Hockey Asia Cup is an international men’s field hockey tournament that is organized by the Asian Hockey Federation. The team that wins this tournament becomes the champion of Asia and also qualifies for the FIH Hockey World Cup. This tournament was founded in the year 1982 with Pakistan winning the inaugural tournament.

What do you know about the Asian Hockey Federation?

The governing body for field hockey sport in Asia is the Asian Hockey Federation. Currently, it has 31-member associations. This organization is affiliated to the International Hockey Federation (FIH). Al-Sultan Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah is the current president of the Asian Hockey Federation.



1 Comment

  1. Dr.Cajetan Coelho

    June 3, 2022 at 9:46 pm

    Congratulations to Hockey India.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *