Suresh Chandra Sharma appointed as first Chairman of National Medical Commission

Professor Suresh Chandra Sharma was appointed as the first Chairman of the National Medical Commission on Thursday, 2nd January 2020. The National Medical Commission will replace the Medical Council of India on 14th October 2019 as the medical education regulator in India after the President of India, Ram Nath Kovind on 8th august 2019 gave his assent to the National Medical Commission Bill 2019.

The Chairman of the National Medical Commission will be appointed for a period of 3 years or till the age of 70, whichever comes first and will be appointed by the Appointments  Committee of the Cabinet. Professor Suresh Chandra Sharma is currently serving as the head of the Department of ENT head-neck surgery at the All India Institute of Medical Science (AIIMS).

Rakesh Kumar Vats has been appointed as the secretary of the National Medical Commission, in the Board of Governors of the Medical Council of India, he served as the Secretary-General.


Leave a Reply