Sudha Murty Nominated to Rajya Sabha

On March 8, 2024, Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced that Indian educator, author, and philanthropist Sudha Murty has been nominated to the Rajya Sabha by President Droupadi Murmu. The nomination, which coincides with International Women’s Day, underscores the importance of representation from different regions of the country and the role of women in political decision-making.

Prime Minister Modi emphasized that Murty’s presence in the Rajya Sabha is a powerful testament to ‘Nari Shakti’ (women power), exemplifying the strength and potential of women in shaping the nation’s destiny. The nomination serves as an inspiration for women across the country and highlights the importance of their contributions to various fields.

Sudha Murty’s Contributions

Sudha Murty, wife of Infosys founder Narayana Murthy and mother to venture capitalist Akshata Murty (married to UK Prime Minister Rishi Sunak), is a prolific writer in Kannada and English. She has authored novels, technical books, and travelogues, and her philanthropic efforts are extensive.

As the chairperson of the Infosys Foundation, Murty has tackled issues like poverty, healthcare, and sanitation. She has built thousands of homes in flood-affected areas, established libraries in schools, and funded the construction of public toilets. Her influence extends beyond India, as she founded the Murty Classical Library of India at Harvard University.

Awards to Sudha Murthy

Sudha Murty was awarded the Padma Shri, the fourth highest civilian award in India, for social work by the Government of India in 2006. In 2023, she was awarded the Padma Bhushan, the third highest civilian award in India.

Nominated Members of Rajya Sabha

Under Article 80 (3) of the Constitution, the President nominates 12 out of the 245 members in the Rajya Sabha on the recommendation of the government. These nominated members should have special knowledge or practical experience in areas such as literature, science, art, and social service.

Murty is the 12th nominated member in the Upper House and has the next six months to join a political party if she chooses to do so. She joins a list of illustrious nominated members, including Ram Shakal, Rakesh Sinha, Sonal Mansingh, Ranjan Gogoi, Mahesh Jethmalani, Ilaiyaraaja, Veerendra Heggade, P T Usha, Ghulam Ali, V Vijayendra Prasad, and Satnam Singh Sandhu.






1 Comment

  1. Dr.Cajetan Coelho

    March 11, 2024 at 9:00 pm

    Nation-building is a beautiful project. Hearty congratulations to educator, author, and philanthropist Shrimati Sudha Murty Ji.

Leave a Reply