South Korea wins 5th Women’s Asian Champions Trophy 2018

The Indian women’s Hockey team failed to defend its crown at the 5th Women’s Asian Champions Trophy 2018, as it lost to hosts South Korea, 0-1 in the summit clash at the Sunrise Stadium in Donghae City on May 20. South Korea set a resolute defence and scored the only goal of the match in the 24th minute when Youngsil Lee found the back of the net from a field effort. With this, South Korea has lifted the title for the 3rd time after having won it in 2010 and 2011. India, on the other hand, finished second best for the second time after having lost to Japan in the final of the 2013 edition. Indian striker Vandana Katariya was declared player of the tournament while youngster Lalremsiami was named as the upcoming player of the tournament. Besides, striker Navneet Kaur and Vandana Katariya finished as joint top-scorer in the tournament along with China’s Xiaoming Song.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *