Pallathuruthy Boat Club (PBC) wins 68th edition of Nehru Trophy Boat Race

Pallathuruthi Boat Club recently won the 68th edition of the Nehru Trophy for a boat race held on the Punnamada Lake in Alappuzha district of Kerala.

This edition of the Boat Race, held after a gap of two years due to the COVID-19 pandemic, was flagged off by DK Joshi, the Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar.

Key Points

  • In this competition ‘Mahadevikadu Kattil Thekethil’ of Pallathuruthi Boat Club won the trophy while ‘Nadubhagam’ of Kumarakam of NCDC Boat Club won the runner-up title.
  • The competition was organized under nine categories, with 77 boats including 20 snake boats competing in the race. Initially, 22 snake boats were to take part in the race, but two withdrew their participation from the race and brought it down to 20.
  • In this, the boat of Pallathuruthi Boat Club won the title by covering a distance of 1.15 km in 4.30.77 minutes.
  • This is Pallathuruthi’s hat-trick title win in the Nehru Trophy with Santhosh Chacko as the captain of this boat.

Boat League (CBL)

CBL (, billed as a game-changing initiative, seeks to professionalize Kerala’s largely scattered snake-boat races, while commercializing them without losing the traditional spirit of the sport does.

About Nehru Trophy Boat Race

It was established in 1952 to commemorate the country’s first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru’s visit to the region and his boat ride in Alappuzha Lake.

During his visit to Alappuzha, PM Nehru climbed on Nadubhagam sandalwood after coming first in snakebite in the race for the exhibition. Later on his return to New Delhi, Prime Minister Nehru donated a silver trophy, a replica of a snake bite.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *