Nayab Saini Elected as Haryana’s New Chief Minister 

In a surprising turn of events, Manohar Lal Khattar resigned as the Chief Minister of Haryana on March 13, 2024, amid a fresh political crisis in the state. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) legislature party swiftly elected Nayab Saini as the new Chief Minister, who took oath of office on the same day. Saini, a known face in the state, has had a long and committed journey in the BJP, serving in various key positions over the past three decades.

Key Positions Held in the BJP

Throughout his association with the BJP, Saini has held several key posts, demonstrating his leadership abilities and dedication to the party. In 2009, he served as the state general secretary of the BJP Kisan Morcha (Haryana) and was subsequently appointed as Ambala BJP’s district president in 2012. These positions allowed Saini to strengthen the party’s structural ecosystem and connect with the grassroots.

Saini’s political journey reached new heights in 2014 when he won the Assembly Elections and was elected as an MLA from Haryana’s Narayangarh Assembly Constituency. His performance and dedication were recognized, and in 2016, he was appointed as a minister in the state government. This appointment showcased the trust and confidence the party had in Saini’s abilities.

Thumping Win in the 2019 General Elections

In the 2019 General Elections, Saini registered a resounding victory in the Kurukshetra constituency, defeating his nearest rival, INC’s Nirmal Singh, by a massive margin of over 3.83 lakh votes. This landslide victory demonstrated Saini’s popularity and the faith that the people of Kurukshetra had in his leadership.

Appointment as Haryana BJP Chief

In 2023, Saini was appointed as the Haryana BJP Chief, a testament to his leadership qualities and the trust the party had in him. As an OBC face in the state, Saini’s appointment was seen as a strategic move by the BJP to strengthen its base among the OBC community and ensure a more inclusive representation in the party’s leadership.

Winning the Trust Vote

A day after taking the oath of office, Chief Minister Nayab Singh Saini won the trust vote in the Haryana Assembly on March 14, 2024. While addressing the Assembly after moving the confidence motion, Saini praised former CM Manohar Lal Khattar for his work in improving governance in Haryana.

Despite the Jannayak Janta Party (JJP) issuing a whip to its legislators asking them to stay absent for the no-confidence motion, four JJP MLAs were present in the House during the trust vote.



Leave a Reply