Mumbai Indians win IPL for the fifth time

On November 10, 2020, Mumbai Indians won the IPL 2020 Trophy for the fifth time. The team has so far won the title in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020. Rohit Sharma was the captain of the team.

Key Highlights

The Mumbai Indians team is owned by Reliance Industries.


The BCCI (Board of Control of Cricket of India) announced in 2007 about the establishment of Indian Premier League. In 2008, it unveiled owners of eight city-based franchises. The teams are owned by the following establishments

  • Chennai Super Kings: India Cements
  • Delhi Capitals: GMR Group and JSW Group
  • Kings XI Punjab: Preity Zinta, Mohit Burman and Karan Paul
  • Kokalata Knight Riders: Red Chillies Entertainment
  • Mumbai Indians: Reliance Industries
  • Rajasthan Royals: Manij Badale
  • Sunrisers Hyderabd: Sun TV Network

About IPL

According to BCCI, IPL in 2015 contributed 160 million USD to the GDP of Indian economy. It was the first sporting event to be broadcasted live on Youtube. The teams play in a home-and-away round robin format.

Round Robin Format

It is a format in which each contestant meets all the other contestants.


The Indian Cricket League was founded in 2007 It was founded through the funding of the Zee Enterprises. However, ICL was not recognized by the BCCI, International Cricket Council. In order to prevent the players from joining the ICL, BCCI increased prize money in their domestic tournaments and also imposed lifetime bans on players joining ICL.

What are Television Timeouts used in IPL?

IPL uses Television timeout. It is a break in a televised live event. Here, the game clock is stopped for a period of time to allow for TV commercials to air.

Time out occurs in cricket when an incoming batsman is not ready to play. By rule, the incoming batsman should reach within three minutes of the previous batsman being out. This, however, has never occurred in international matches.


1 Comment

  1. Dr.Cajetan Coelho

    November 16, 2020 at 3:34 am

    Hearty congratulations to Mumbai Indians.

Leave a Reply