Maharashtra creates Rajiv Gandhi Award for Excellence in Information Technology (IT)

Maharashtra government has announced for creation of a new award named “Rajiv Gandhi Award for Excellence in Information Technology (IT)”.

Key Points

Creation of new award was announced days after the central government renamed the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award as Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award.

Why this award will be presented?

According to Minister of State for Information and Technology, Satej Patil, award will be given to institutions and companies for their outstanding performance in information technology sector on the occasion of birth anniversary of former prime minister Rajiv Gandhi.

When award will be presented?

The award will be announced on August 20, 2021. It was decided to announce this award at a meeting of IT department on July 7.

Who are eligible for the award?

  • State government will talk with several organisations like NASSCOM to finalise modalities of the award.
  • Companies or institutions which are having excel in the IT field with new ideas and innovations will be eligible for the award.

Who will present the award?

Award will be presented by Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray.

Who will propose the award?

Maharashtra IT Corporation Limited (MAHA-IT), a state government enterprise, has been appointed a nodal agency to propose the newly constituted award.

Rajiv Gandhi

He was an Indian politician, served as the sixth prime minister of India in between 1984 to 1989. He took office of President at the age of 40 after assassination of his mother, Prime Minister Indira Gandhi in 1984. He became the youngest Indian prime minister of India.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *