Karnataka clinched the Irani Cup 2014

Screenshot_8Karnataka clinched the Irani Cup 2013-14 for the fifth time after defeating Rest of India in the final held at Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore. Karnataka beat Rest of India by an innings and 222 runs to win the trophy.
Man-of-the-match: R. Vinay Kumar. 
Recently, Karnataka defeated Maharashtra by seven wickets to win 2013-14 Ranji Trophy at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad. Mr. Vinay Kumar became the third Karnataka captain to win both the Ranji Trophy and Irani Cup in the same year. Karnataka last won the Irani Cup in 1998 at the same venue, under Venkatesh Prasad.
Irani cup was named after the late Z.R. Irani, who was associated with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) from its inception in 1928, till his death in 1970. 
Note: This victory of Karnataka made it the first ever Ranji Trophy champion in the last eight seasons to win the Irani Cup also. (Karnataka are the current Ranji champions).



Leave a Reply