Gallantry Awards on Republic Day

On January 25, 2022, President Ram Nath Kovind approved 384 gallantry awards and other military decorations for security forces personnel.

Key Points

  • He also approved 12 Shaurya Chakras for soldiers who demonstrated exceptional courage during operations.
  • First Indian to win gold in track and field event at Tokyo Olympics 2020, Subedar Neeraj Chopra of 4 Rajputana Rifles will also be awarded the Param Vishisht Seva Medal (PVSM). PVSM is a decoration usually given to three-star officers for their distinguished service.

Ashok Chakra to Sub Inspector Babu Ram

The President will posthumously award Ashok Chakra to Assistant Sub Inspector Babu Ram of Jammu and Kashmir Police at the Republic Day parade on January 26, 2022. Ashok Chakra is India’s highest peace-time gallantry award. Babu Ram had killed three terrorists in Srinagar, during an operation on August 29, 2020.

Shaurya Chakra to nine personnel

Shaurya Chakra is the third highest peacetime gallantry award of India. The award will be posthumously conferred to nine personnel as well as to 3 other personnel. The awardees include:

  1. Naib Subedar Sreejith M (posthumous)
  2. Havildar Anil Kumar Tomar (posthumous)
  3. Havildar Kashiray Bammanalli (posthumous)
  4. Havildar Pinku Kumar (posthumous)
  5. Sepoy Maruprolu Jaswanth Kumar Reddy (posthumous)
  6. CRPF Head Constable Ajeet Singh (posthumous)
  7. CRPF Constable Vikas Kumar (posthumous)
  8. CRPF Constable Purnanand (posthumous) and
  9. CRPF Head Constable Kuldeep Kumar Urawan (posthumous)
  10. Rifleman Rakesh Sharma
  11. CRPF Deputy Commandant Dilip Malik
  12. CRPF Assistant Commandant Anirudh Pratap Singh.

384 awards

The President approved 384 Gallantry awards, on the eve of 73rd Republic Day. It includes- 29 Param Vishisht Seva Medals, 53 Ati Vishisht Seva Medals, 4 Uttam Yudh Seva Medals, 3 Bar to Vishisht Seva Medals, 13 Yudh Seva Medals, 122 Vishisht Seva Medals, 3 Bar to Sena Medals (Gallantry), 2 Vayu Sena Medals (Gallantry), 81 Sena Medals (Gallantry), 8 Nao Sena Medals (Devotion to Duty), 40 Sena Medals (Devotion to Duty), and 14 Vayu Sena Medals (Devotion to Duty).



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *