Dipak Misra sworn-in as new Chief Justice of India (CJI)

Justice Dipak Misra has been sworn-in as the new Chief Justice of India (CJI) and will have tenure of nearly 13 months. He succeeded Chief Justice J S Khehar. Justice Misra was enrolled as an Advocate in 1977 and practiced in Constitutional, Civil, Criminal, Revenue, Service and Sales Tax matters in the Orissa High Court and the Service Tribunal.
He was appointed as an Additional Judge of the Orissa High Court in 1996 and became permanent Judge in December, 1997. He also served as the Chief Justice of Patna and Delhi High Courts. In 2011, Justice Misra was elevated as a Judge in the Supreme Court.

Leave a Reply