P Dhanapal re-elected as Speaker of Tamil Nadu Assembly

Ruling AIADMK P Dhanapal was unanimously re-elected as Speaker of the 15th Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly.
With this, he becomes first speaker to be elected for a consecutive second term in the state’s legislative history.
Besides, Pollachi V Jayaraman of ruling AIADMK was unanimously re-elected as the Deputy Speaker of the legislative assembly.
Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa had proposed their names as Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively and the state Finance Minister O Panneerselvam had seconded the proposal when the Assembly met.
Both of them earlier had served as Speaker and Deputy Speaker during the 2011-16 AIADMK regime. Mr Dhanapal was re-elected to the Assembly from Avinashi (Reserved) constituency for sixth term and Mr Jayaraman was re-elected from Pollachi seat for fourth term.
Mr Dhanapal was elected Speaker for the first time in 2002 in then AIADMK regime. Also, he was the first Dalit to become Speaker after 1955. J Sivashanmugam Pillai was the first Dalit Speaker between 1946 and 1955 of the then Madras Legislative Assembly.


Leave a Reply