Current Affairs For All Examinations: January 18, 2010

PACS : Primary Agricultural Credit Society
PCPS : Perpetual Cumulative Preference Shares
RCPS : Redeemable Cumulative Preference Shares
SACRED : Scheme for Agricultural Credit Development
SCARDB : State Cooperative Agriculture and Rural Development Bank

Senior Advisor Citi Asia – Alasdair Morrison
Citigroup appoints Alasdair Morrison as Senior Advisor Citi Asia.

Awards & Honors:
Orissa Science Awards:
Here is the list of Orissa Science Awards 2007 winners

  1. Orissa Science Academy award: Professor Lalit Mohan Patnaik & Professor Gyandev Maharana Prestigious Orissa Science Academy award for the year 2007 is presented to Professor Lalit Mohan Patnaik, Vice-Chancellor of Defense Institute of Advanced Technology, Pune and Professor Gyandev Maharana, a scientists of the Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar, for their contributions for the enrichment of science.
  2. S Chandraskhekar Award: Dr Ananta Bandhu Das, Dr Atmaram Mishra and Prof Ramanath Mishra
  3. Orissa Young Scientists award: Dr Rabindra Kumar Misra, Dr Subhransu Samantaray,
  4. Popular Science Author Awards: Ms Kalyani Das, Mr Mayadhar Swain and Dr Bhagabat Prasad Das.

Crop Science Society of America (CSSA) Fellowship: Hari D Upadhyaya
Hari D Upadhyaya, Principal scientist and Genebank Head ICRISAT, playing the key role in preserving the germplasm at the gene bank in ICRISAT has been Honored with Crop Science Society of America (CSSA) fellowship for his outstanding research that reflects a gamut of high quality basic, strategic and applied study.

Karshakasree award – Sunny George
Sunny George was instituted by Malayala Manorama Daily in 1992 and is biennially awarded to most outstanding farmer of Kerala. Sunny George from Kannur district has been selected for this award this year.

Events & Happenings:
Film Festival ” Fasle” Lucknow
Fasle is the name of the film festival which kicks off on January 18, 2010 at Lucknow.

14th Death Anniversary of NTR:
Nandamuri Taraka Rama Rao famous among the masses as NTR, was an actor, director, producer, and politician. Founder of Telugu Desam Party & was Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh. He was awarded Padma Shree for his contribution to Telugu cinema.

7th Death Anniversary: Harivansh Rai Bachchan
Most distinguished Hindi poet of Chhayavaad literary movement & best known Madhushala & father of Amitabh Bachchan is remembered on January 18, 2010.
He was nominated to Rajya Sabha in 1966, won Sahitya Academy Award in 1969, honored with Padma Bhushan in 1976 & Saraswati Samman in 1991 for his his autobiography in four volumes. His Madhushala was published in 1935. International awards he won are Soviet Land Nehru Award and the Lotus Award of the Afro-Asian writers conference.

National Updates:
Chhattisgarh: Friends of AIDS Campaign:
Chhattisgarh Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome Control Society will rope in barbers, hawkers, paan shop and dhaba owners as ‘Friends of AIDS’ to launch a statewide awareness campaign against the disease.

On Sagar Parikrama
Sagar Parikrama is India’s First solo circumnavigation voyage in which INSV Mhadei was flagged off from Mumbai on August 19, 2009, by Admiral (Retd) Sureesh Mehta, former Chief of Naval Staff. It is being skippered by Commander Dilip Dhonde. Mhadei’s third leg of voyage she halts at Port Stanley and after a halt of about 14 days for the fourth leg of her voyage on January 29 to her last port of call en-route – Cape Town, South Africa. After that Mhadei will return to the Base camp Mumbai.

5 Regional Centers of NSD
National School of Drama (NSD) is an autonomous organization under Ministry of Culture, Govt. of India, which was set up in 1959 by the Sangeet Natak Akademi and became an independent school in 1975. f new Regional Centers of NSD – at Bengaluru, Kolkata, Jammu & Kashmir, Maharashtra/Goa and in the North East are also being set up.

On approval to buy 29 more MiG-29Ks
Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) approves in principle, proposal to buy 29 additional MiG-29K naval fighter aircrafts. Earlier India has bought 16 MiG-29K aircraft from Russia for $536 million. Final approval has not come.

India World:
IPCC report Controversy in Himalayan Glaciers:
In the Fourth Assessment Report, 2007 of IPCC had predicted that Himalayan glaciers would melt away by 2035. This statement / finding is under criticism all over the world in academic circles. certainly this brings embarrassment to the IPCC. The question being raised are not on melting of the glaciers but the Year 2035. Recently India’s Minister of Environment & Forests also challenged the IPCC’s claims that ” there was no “conclusive scientific evidence” that global warming was leading to Himalayan snow melt.

Now Dr R K Pachauri, the chairman of IPCC says that IPCC would review this prediction.

Namaskar Africa 2010
On January 15, 2010, Anand Sharma, India’s Minister of Trade & Commerce along with his Nigerian counterpart also inaugurated the “Made in India” exhibition, with participation from 50 Indian companies. A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between ECOWAS and FICCI was also signed. The theme of the event was Namaskar Africa 2010.

Nigeria is India’s largest trading partner in Africa with the overall trade at $ 10.2 billion in 2008-2009.

Commonwealth Judo ChampionshipSingapore (Indian Winners)
Commonwealth Judo Championship was held at Singapore from 8th to 12th January 2010. Indo-Tibetan Border Police ((ITBP) ASI Virender Singh and Constable Ms Kalpana from India have won Gold Medals for India in this event.

Teams from 21 countries participated in the Commonwealth Judo Championship held at Singapore. The championship is organized every two years. ASI Virender Singh beat South Africa in the 81 kg weight category in the final. Ct. Ms Kalpana beat Australia in the final in 52 Kg weight category. The Indian team comprised 24 Judokas.

image comes via :

The above 5 questions are part of Daily Current Affairs 20 MCQs Series in GKToday Android Application. This series can be subscribed in the app only for Rs. 799/- for entire year. Download Now



Leave a Reply