Current Affairs : Awards November 6-10, 2009

November 6, 2009: Ms Shamim Mody honoured with Navleen Kumar award
Ms Shamim Mody, leader of the Shramik Adivasi Sanghatan and an Assistant Professor at Tata Institute of Social Sciences (TISS) has been presented with Navleen Kumar award for her contribution to welfare of tribals, dalits and unorganized labourers in Betul district of Madhya Pradesh. This award commeorates Ms Navleen Kumar, who became a martyr fighting for the rights of tribals in the Vasai-Virar belt, in Maharastra.

November 6, 2009: Dewang Mehta awards
Foundation for Liberal And Management Education (FLAME), Pune has bagged eight awards at the 17th Dewang Mehta Business School Awards.

November 6, 2009: SAARC researcher award for Malaria – Devika Periera
Devika Periera a scientist from Sri Lanka has bagged the coveted ‘Vestergaard Frandsen’ award in recognition of her pioneering research in studies on insecticide resistance in malarial vectors, among the scientists of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) countries.
November 6, 2009 : Kalinga Prize : Prof Yash Pal
Professor Yash Pal has won the annual Kalinga Prize for the popularisation of science along with a Vietnamese professor, a Tunisian expert in water
management and the organisation responsible for Spain’s national park system. The award was presented in Budapest, Hungary in the recently held World Science Forum. Co-winner Trinh is a world-renowned astrophysicist who in 2004 discovered the youngest known galaxy in the universe.
November 6, 2009: Lifetime achievement award at 11th Mumbai Film Festival – Amitabh Bachchan
Amitabh Bachchan was felicitated with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the 11th Mumbai Film Festival on Thursday for completing 40 years in the film industry. “White Lightnin” directed by Dominic Murphy was adjudged the best film at this festival. Greek filmmaker Theo Angelopoulos was also honoured with a Lifetime Achievement award.

November 7, 2009: Lifetime Achievement Award by Cable Satellite Broadcasting Association of Asia – Subhash Chandra
Zee TV Network chairman Subhash Chandra was honoured by the Cable Satellite Broadcasting Association of Asia (CSBAA). Subhash Chandra was bestowed Life Time Achievement Award for being ”Father of Indian Pay Channels”.

November 9, 2009: ‘Icon’ awards for waste management – Mangalore & Mysore
Mysore and Mangalore bagged ‘Icon’ City and Second ‘Icon’ City national awards respectively for Waste Management by the state Government.

November 9, 2009: Honorary doctoral degree by Sri Padmavati Mahila Viswavidyalayam University- Meira Kumar
Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar was honored with an honorary doctoral degree of letters by Tirupati-based Sri Padmavati Mahila Viswavidyalayam University.

November 10, 2009: G D Birla Award – Professor Manindra Aggarwal
Professor Manindra Aggarwal of Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur was awarded 19th G D Birla Award for Scientific Research for the year 2009. He holds N Rama Rao Chair Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at IIT Kanpur.

November 10, 2009: ‘Sahara Indian Sports Awards’
Click here to read about these awards

The above 5 questions are part of Daily Current Affairs 20 MCQs Series in GKToday Android Application. This series can be subscribed in the app only for Rs. 799/- for entire year. Download Now


Leave a Reply