Current Affairs April 3, 2010

Appointments / Elections:
Chief Justice of Madras High Court – Justice M Y Eqbal
Justice M Y Eqbal is the new Chief Justice of Madras High Court. He replaces Justice H L Gokhale. Justice H L Gokhale & Jharkhand High Court Chief Justice Gyan Sudha Mishra have been recommended by Supreme Court collegium for elevation to the Supreme Court.

Events Happenings & Observances:
Nuclear Energy for All, Nuclear Weapon for None
This is the title of a meeting on Nuclear disarmament in Tehran scheduled for April 17-18, 2010. India decides to join this meet and India’s ambassador to Tehran Sanjay Singh will participate in the meeting.

Srimanta Sankardeva Award
Srimanta Sankardeva Award are conferred by Assam Government. Eminent litterateur Homen Borgohain and eminent actress Sharmila Tagore have been chosen for Srimanta Sankardeva Award 2007 & 2008.

Public Relations Council of India – Chanakya Awards
Public Relations Council of India (PRCI), a Registered National body of PR and Communication professionals based at Chennai announces Chanakya Awards for the year 2010. some of the awardees are as follows:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award : Bobby Sista & Manohar Prabhakar
    Bobby Sista is an advertiser and founder chairperson of NGO ‘Population First’. Manohar Prabhakar is former director of the Information and Public Relations Department of Rajasthan Government.
  • Media Personality of the Decade Award: Barkha Datt
    Barkha Datt is Managing Editor of NDTV.
  • NGO of the Year Award – Navjyoti
    Navjyoti is an NGO of Dr Kiran Bedi
  • Organisation of the Year-PR Excellence – Coca-Cola
  • Communicator of the Year-PR – Yogesh Joshi
    Yogesh Joshi is president of Association of Business Communicators of India
  • Young Visionary – Phanindra Sama
    Phanindra Sama is CEO Red Bus
  • Corporate Citizen of the Year – Centre For Social Research-Women Empowerment

National Updates:
India’s first Standard Guage line Opens
India’s first Standard Guage line taking Delhi Metro from Inderlok to Mundka opens. Being on the Standard Gauge rails measuring four feet and 8.5 inches, as against Broad Gauge used for Phase one, the tracks on this line will be narrower and speed of the trains better. With the commissioning of this line, the total Metro network has increased to over 111 km and 97 stations.

Asian Rugby Sevens Invitational Tournament
Malaysia is the champion of the Asian Rugby Sevens Invitational Tournament. India finihses 4th.

The above 5 questions are part of Daily Current Affairs 20 MCQs Series in GKToday Android Application. This series can be subscribed in the app only for Rs. 799/- for entire year. Download Now


Leave a Reply