Current Affairs : Awards : December 6-15, 2009

December 6, 2009: Grawemeyer Award : Eboo Patel
India-born Eboo Patel who is a member of President Barack Obama’s faith advisory council, has become the first Muslim to win the prestigious Grawemeyer Award in Religion from the Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary and the University of Louisville.

December 6, 2009: World Hockey Players of the Year 2009: Luciana Aymar & Naomi Van As
Luciana Aymar of Argentina (best men’s hockey player of the world) , Naomi Van As (best women’s hockey player of the world) of The Netherlands and Jamie Dwyer have been named the World Hockey Players of the Year 2009.

World Hockey Young Player of the Year 2009: Casey Eastham & Ashley Jackson
Australian Casey Eastham and England’s Ashley Jackson received the World Hockey Young Player of the Year 2009 awards for male and female category respectively.

December 6, 2009: UN’s Global Citizen of the Year award: Nicolas Cage
Nicolas Cage has received Global Citizen of the Year award from the United Nations for his humanitarian efforts. He has appointed as a UN goodwill ambassador on drugs and crime.

December 7, 2009: Mukundan Menon award: C R Neelakandan
Environmentalist C R Neelakandan has been chosen for Mukundan C Menon award instituted by the National Confederation of Human Rights Organizations (NCHRO).

December 7, 2009: Young Investigator Award , Japan: M Bhaskar Rao
Assistant professor of Sri Venkateswara Ayurvedic College (SVAC) M Bhaskar Rao has received prestigious Young Investigator Award at Tokyo in Japan for his research paper on ‘the prevalence of Hepatitis-B in India with special reference to Ayurveda management submitted at the VIII Japan Society of Hepatology Conference, held at the International Medical Centre of Japan.

December 8, 2009: BCCI Best Overall Performance Award: Punjab Cricket Association
The Punjab Cricket Association has received the best Overall Performance trophy instituted by the BCCI for its affiliated member associations for being the most organized cricket at the junior level and the spread throughout the state has resulting in winning most of the junior cricket tournaments held under the aegis of BCCI.

December 8, 2009: Global MAKE award: Wipro
Wipro Technologies has bagged the 2009 Global MAKE award for its achievement in ‘developing knowledge workers through senior management leadership and ‘creating an environment for collaborative knowledge sharing.’ Wipro has won this award for third time.

Global MAKE Awards are administered by Teleos, an independent research firm based out of the UK since 1998. Wipro is the only Indian company to be awarded the Asian MAKE Award seven times in a row and also the prestigious winner of the Indian MAKE Award, five times since the inception of the award.

December 8, 2009: Asian Film Culture Award : Amitabh Bachchan
Megastar Amitabh Bachchan has been decorated with Asian Film Culture Award founded by the Asian Film Foundation. Sri Bachchan holds the record for most number of best actor nominations at Filmfare Awards.

The Past recipients of this award were Adoor Gopalakrishnan, 2009 (India), Park Kwang Su, 2008 (South Korea), Tapan Sinha, 2007 (India), Majid Majidi, 2005 (Iran), Kanneto Shindo, 2004 (Japan), Mrinal Sen, 2003 (India) and Lester Junes Peries, 2002 (Sri Lanka).

Chairman of the Asian Film Foundation – Kiran Shantaram.

December 9, 2009: Asiatic Society Award: Sheikh Hasina
Asiatic Society of Kolkata has chosen Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina for the Indira Gandhi Gold Plaque 2009. The Asiatic Society, Kolkata, awards the Indira Gandhi Gold Plaque annually to an eminent person of global repute for significant contribution to international understanding or human progress or for inter-cultural cooperation. The award was introduced in 1985 and former Swedish premier late Olof Palme was the first recipient. Amongst the other recipients are Mother Teresa and Nelson Mandela.

December15, 2009: Lal Bahadur Shastri National Award: Sunil Mittal
Sunil Bharti Mittal, Chairman and Group CEO of Bharti Enterprises has been bestowed upon with the prestigious Lal Bahadur Shastri National Award for Excellence in Public Administration, Academics and Management 2009. He was selected in recognition of his quality business leadership & his contribution to the uplift of rural poor and contributed to the growth of academic excellence with Indian ethos.

The earlier recipients of this Award have been Prof CK Prahalad, Dr E Sreedharan, Dr MS Swaminathan, Dr Naresh Trehan, Dr CP Srivastava, Ms Ela R Bhatt, Dr RA Mashelkar, Mr N R Narayana Murthy and Mr Sam Pitroda.

The above 5 questions are part of Daily Current Affairs 20 MCQs Series in GKToday Android Application. This series can be subscribed in the app only for Rs. 799/- for entire year. Download Now


1 Comment

  1. sharmistha

    December 31, 2010 at 9:47 pm


Leave a Reply