Constitution 10th Amendment Act, 1961

People of free Dadra and Nagar Haveli adopted a resolution on 12 June 1961 for integration of their territories with the Union of India. Subsequently, these areas were made part of specific Union Territory with effect from August 11, 1961.

Important Provisions

  • The First Schedule to the Constitution is amended to make Dadra and Nagar Haveli as Seventh Union territory.
  • It amended article 240(1) to include union territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli in order to enable the President to make regulations for the peace, progress and good government of the territory.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *