Centre for Science and Environment awarded Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development

Delhi-based environment think-tank Centre for Science and Environment (CSE) will be awarded Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development 2018 for its work in environmental education and protection. CSE is being awarded prize for its steadyfast advocacy of measures to combat environmental deterioration and for its success in influencing public policies and programmes that have benefitted social and economic development in India. It was selected for this award by international jury, chaired by former president Pranab Mukherjee.
Centre for Science and Environment (CSE)
It is not-for-profit public interest research and advocacy organisation based in New Delhi. It was established in 1980 under the leadership of late Anil Aggarwal. It works as think tank on environment-development issues in India, poor planning, climate shifts devastating Sundarbans and advocates for policy changes and better implementation of already existing policies. It uses knowledge-based activism to create awareness about problems and propose sustainable solutions. It has been working for the last four decades to incorporate environmental sustainability into development policies. It has worked on extending awareness and education about environmental issues on air and water pollution, waste water management and industrial pollution, food safety and energy, climate change and above all in influencing official policy and public actions for sustainable development. Its programmes have achieved important public health outcomes in several areas of vital impact, including air pollution, sustainable industrialisation programme, sustainable water management and sanitation, climate change and food and toxins programme.
Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development
It awarded annually by Indira Gandhi Trust since 1986. It has been named after former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi. It is awarded to individuals or organizations in recognition of their creative efforts towards promoting international peace, development. It is also bestowed upon them for creating new international economic order and ensuring that scientific discoveries are used for the larger good of humanity and enlarging the scope of freedom. The award consists of monetary award of 25 lakh and citation. Some of its earlier recipients are UNICEF (1989), Rajiv Gandhi (1991), M S Swaminathan (1999), Kofi Annan (2003), Angel Merkel (2013), Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) (2014) and UN High Commission for Refugees (2015),  Manmohan Singh (2017).


Leave a Reply