Bidhya Devi Bhandari elected as first female President of Nepal

Bidhya Devi Bhandari of the ruling Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist Leninist)-CPN-UML has been elected as first female President of Nepal.
With this, she also became first President under newly promulgated Constitution of Nepal and second President since the Himalayan nation became a republic after abolishing the centuries-old monarchy.

  • In the Presidential election, Bidhya Devi Bhandari defeated her opponent Kul Bahadur Gurung of the Nepali Congress by securing 327 to 214 votes out of total 549 votes.
  • Under the country’s new Constitution promulgated on 20 September 2015 it was mandatory for Parliament to elect new President and Vice-President, Prime Minister and parliament Speaker and Deputy speaker.

About Bidhya Devi Bhandari

  • Born: in June 1961 in Bhojpur, Nepal.
  • Presently she is deputy leader of the CPN-UML party led by incumbent Prime Minister Khadga Prasad Oli.
  • Earlier she had served as Defence Minister of the country and has been an active campaigner for women’s rights.

Ram Baran Yadav was first elected President of Republic Nepal. He was elected in 2008 and was in office for 7 years till the drafting and adoption of Republican Federal Constitution.
President of Nepal is ceremonial head of state, under the new Republican Federal Constitution of Nepal.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *