Ajay Kumar Bhalla appointed as new Union Home Secretary of Government of India

Ajay Kumar Bhalla, the1984-batch Assam Meghalaya cadre IAS officer , has been appointed Officer on Special Duty (OSD) to the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) with immediate effect. He will take over as Home Secretary from incumbent Rajive Gauba. Mr. Bhalla will have a fixed two-year tenure as Union Home Secretary till August 2021. Excerpts of the major reshuffle in the senior bureaucracy: Subhash Chandra Garg has been shifted to the Power Ministry as Secretary, while Gujarat cadre IAS officer Atanu Chakraborty has been made new Economic Affairs Secretary. Anshu Prakash has been appointed new Secretary of Telecommunications. This is the first reshuffle in the top bureaucracy after the parliamentary polls that saw return of the Narendra Modi government with thumping majority. The reshuffle includes IAS officers of 1984, 1985 and 1986 batches.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *