Two new districts inaugurated in Manipur

Amid Naga protests, Manipur Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh has inaugurated two new districts Pherzawl and Noney out of Naga-dominated districts of Churachandpur and Tamenglong respectively. According to the state government, new districts have been created to bring infrastructure development in the interior hill areas.


Manipur has been greatly disturbed by armed violence with the formation of the United National Liberation Front of Manipur (UNLF) on November 24, 1964. Insurgency started in Manipur as early as in the 1960s.  Another significant Manipuri armed separatist group known as the Revolutionary People’s Front (RPF) and its armed wing, the People’s Liberation Army (PLA), has been engaging in an armed struggle since 1976. The objectives of these organizations are same: independence and sovereignty of Manipur


Leave a Reply