National Film Awards India): GK, Current Affairs, Questions, Trivia and News

Movie ‘Hellaro’ wins Best Feature Film award at 2018 National Film awards

Hellaro (Gujarati) has won the Best Feature Film award at the 66th National Film awards for year 2018. While, Ayushmann Khurrana and Vicky Kaushal share the Best Actor Award for Andhadhun and Uri: The Surgical Strikes, respectively. Keerthi Suresh bagged Best Actress award for Mahanati. ‘Uri’ director Aditya Dhar won in the Best Director category, ..

Mrinal Sen, legendary filmmaker, passes away

Mrinal Sen (95), the legendary filmmaker, has passed away in Kolkata, West Bengal on December 30, 2018. Along with his contemporaries Satyajit Ray and Ritwik Ghatak, he was often considered to be one of the greatest ambassadors of Bengali parallel cinema on the global stage with films like Ek Din Achanak, Padatik, Mrigaya, Akaler Sandhane, ..

Newton film wins best film award at 3rd edition of BRICS Film Festival 2018

The 2018 BRICS Film Festival took place in Durban, South Africa, along with the International Durban Film Festival (DIFF) from 22-27th July. The last day of the festival was celebrated as India Country Day, followed by Awards and Closing Ceremony. The basic aim of film festival is to celebrate world-class film productions from the BRICS ..

Bengali writer Ramapada Chowdhury passes away

Acclaimed Bengali writer Ramapada Chowdhury (95), whose story ‘Abhimanyu’ was made into a Hindi movie ‘Ek doctor ki maut’, has passed away in Kolkata, West Bengal on July 29, 2018. ‘Abhimanyu’ was based on the life and work of Dr Subhas Mukhopadhyay who created India’s first and the world’s second test-tube baby in 1978. Director ..

Dr Hemu Adhikari, veteran film and theatre actor passes away

Dr Hemu Adhikari (81), the veteran film and theatre actor, has passed away in Mumbai, Maharashtra on May 22, 2018. He acted in Sai Paranjpe’s “Katha” and Marathi films like “Dhyaas Parya” and “Harishchandrachi Factory”. He was known for his cameo in Rajkumar Hirani’s “Lage Raho Munna Bhai” (2006).

Dhappa movie wins Nargis Dutt Award for Best Film on National Integration at 65th National Film Awards 2017

Marathi movie ‘Dhappa’ bagged the Nargis Dutt Award for Best Film on National Integration, while ‘ Ladhakh’ was declared the Best Regional Film at the 65th National Film Awards. Apart from this, Malayalam Movie ‘Aaalorukkam’, directed by V.C.Abhilash, was awarded the Best Film on Social Issues. Jayaraj was awarded the Best Direction in the Feature ..

Shyam Benegal bestowed with V Shantaram Lifetime Achievement Award 2018

Shyam Benegal, the veteran film producer and director, has been bestowed with the prestigious V. Shantaram lifetime achievement Award 2018 for his contribution to the promotion of the documentary movement. The award, carrying a trophy, a citation, shawl and cash prize of Rs 10 lakh, has been conferred on Benegal by Maharashtra Governor C.V. Rao ..

Filmmaker Kundan Shah (69) passes away

Filmmaker Kundan Shah (69), the director of the romantic drama ‘Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa’, has passed away in Mumbai on October 7. He is most known for his comedy classic ‘Jaane Bhi Do Yaaro’ and his 1985–1986, TV series Nukkad with Saeed Akhtar Mirza. He will be remembered for his wonderful usage of humour and ..