The renaming of Manduadih railway station as Banaras received final consent

The Union Home Ministry has given green light to the Uttar Pradesh government’s request of renaming Manduadih railway station as Banaras railway station. The no-objection certificate for changing the name has been received by the government of UP. The Diesel Locomotive Works is located near Manduadih station which is four kilometers away from Varanasi Cantt Station.

What is the procedure of changing the name of a station?

  • First, the state government sends proposals to the home ministry for changing names.
  • Then the Home Ministry consults regarding the matter with concerned agencies as per the guidelines.
  • Home ministry gives its approval after receiving no objection certificate from the railway ministry.

Previous name change of stations

The name of the stations i.e. Allahabad Junction, Allahabad City, Allahabad Chheoki, Prayagghat has been changed as Prayagraj Junction, Prayagraj Rambagh, Prayagraj Chheoki, Prayagraj Sangam respectively. The name of the Mughalsarai Junction was changed to the Deen Dayal Upadhyay junction.


Varanasi is a city of the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh, located on the bank of the holy river Ganga. It is the holiest of the seven sacred cities in Hinduism and Jainism


Leave a Reply