The 2017 Vijay Diwas observed

The Vijay Diwas is commemorated every year on December 16 to mark India’s victory over Pakistan in the 1971 war, which had led to the creation of Bangladesh. On 16 December 1971, nearly 93,000 Pakistani Forces under the command of Lieutenant General AAK Niazi raised white flags and surrendered to the Indian Army at Dhaka, in the presence of the tri-service Commanders of Indian Armed Forces. It was on this day in 1971, that a declaration of cease-fire was brought into force, ending the Indo-Pak War and resulting in the birth of the sovereign country of Bangladesh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *