Statehood day of Arunachal Pradesh & Mizoram

On February 20, 2022, Prime Minister Narendra Modi greeted people of Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram on the occasion of statehood day both the states.


  • Year 2022 marked the 36th State Foundation Day of Arunachal Pradesh. North-East Frontier Agency (NEFA) was given a new name and a new identity as Arunachal Pradesh, 50 years ago.
  • Arunachal Pradesh became a full-fledged state on February 20, 1987.
  • Mizoram was the 23rd state of India. It was made a state on February 20, 1987, with 53rd Amendment Act of Indian Constitution, 1986.

Statehood Day of Arunachal Pradesh

Arunachal Pradesh is called as “Land of Dawn-Lit Mountains”. It is a state in Northeast India, which are from erstwhile North-East Frontier Agency (NEFA) region. It became a state on February 20, 1987. It states border with states of Assam and Nagaland to the south. It has international borders with Bhutan, Myanmar and China. Itanagar is state capital. It is the largest among Seven Sister States of Northeast India by area.

About Mizoram

It is one among the seven sister states of north-eastern India. Aizawl is its seat of government as well as capital city. Name of this state is derived from Mizo and Ram’ which means land in the Mizo language. Thus, Mizoram means “land of the Mizos”. It is the southernmost landlocked state among northeast region of India. The state share borders with three states namely Tripura, Manipur and Assam. It also shares a 722-kilometre border with Bangladesh and Myanmar. It was established on February 20, 1987.

Seven Sister States

Seven Sister States is a popular term for contiguous states of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura, before the inclusion of Sikkim into North Eastern Region of India. The term ‘Land of the Seven Sisters’ was coined by Jyoti Prasad Saikia, to coincide with inauguration of new states in January 1972. Jyoti Prasad Saikia was a journalist in Tripura.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *