Shi Yomi becomes new district of Arunachal Pradesh

Shi Yomi has become the 23rd district of Arunachal Pradesh, after it was formally inaugurated by Chief Minister Pema Khandu in presence of Union Minister of State for Home Kiren Rijiju. The district was carved out of the West Siang district with its headquarters at Tato. It has four administrative units namely Mechuka, Tato, Pidi and Manigong. Earlier, on 29th August 2018, the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly passed a bill for the creation of 3 new districts — Pakke-Kesang, Lepa Rada and Shi Yomi. Soon, two other districts will be fromalyy inaugurated, which takes the total districts in the state to 25. The Pakke-Kessang district will be carved out of East Kameng district with five administrative units namely Pakke-Kessangn, Seijosa, Pijiriang, Passa Valley and Dissingn Passo with district headquarters at Lemmi. The other district Lepa Rada would be created by bifurcating the Lower Siang district with headquarters at Basar with four administrative units – Tirbin, Basar, Daring and Sago.

Leave a Reply