Scientist V K Saraswat joins as full-time member of NITI Aayog

Former DRDO chief Vijay Kumar Saraswat has taken charge as full time-member of National Institution for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog.
V K Saraswat

  • He had played a very significant role in the development of the country’s first Liquid Propulsion Engine, DEVIL.
  • He was Project Director of Prithvi and had steered the design, development, production and induction of the first indigenous Surface-to-Surface missile system into the armed forces.
  • He was Secretary of Defence (Research & Development) and Director General of Defence Research & Development Organisation (DRDO).
  • Awards: He was conferred the Padma Shri (1998) and Padma Bhusan (2013).

Earlier on 1 January 2015, Union Government had announced the replacement of 6 decade year old Planning Commission with new age NITI Aayog to function as both a think-tank and a policy forum for government.
On 5 January 2015, Prime Minister Narendra Modi as Chairman of NITI Aayog had appointed V K Saraswat along with eminent economist Bibek Debroy as its full time members and Arvind Panagariya as its first Vice-Chairman.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *